All Green for St Patrick’s Day

After a trip to a local yarn store 4 400gramme balls of moss green Aran yarn may just have found their way into my shopping bag.  Oops. I did start knitting an enormous cable blanket using size 15 mm knitting needles but found that too slow and clunky.

Tidying up my craft books I came across the excellent “200 crochet blocks” by Jan Eaton.  I’m sure plenty of you will buy recipe books for just one recipe. I bought this book for the pattern of one square, “willow” though until now I have never been able to master it, so the book was hidden away in despair.

Until now! Thanks to this great Crochet blog with lovely clear step by step photos I have cracked it! In my excitement I had planned a big green throw made entirely of willow pattern blocks, but then my creative self tapped me on the shoulder and challenged me to have a go at the other 199 squares and see how far and how many I could do.  I am somewhat limited by using only moss green so the squares with contrasting colours and stripes are ruled out, but I have decided to edge each square with cream yarn to break up the solid blocks of colour.

So we are looking for texture and interest.

Blocks completed so far- 

willow pattern



lacy cross



Old Vienna

Into the Blue

I’m using a 5.5 hook. Blocking is going to be crucial at the finishing stage otherwise this throw is going to be a mess.

The great thing about these blocks is each one doesn’t take too long to make, as long as I follow the pattern accurately.

🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀Happy St Patrick’s Day from me, sitting in the  Irish Spring sunshine! 🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀

Leave a Reply

