Ta Dah Sparkly Shell Wrap

2015/01/img_0608.jpg
It’s been very cold, icy and a bit snowy so plenty of indoors time to finish this wrap. It’s turned out pretty amazing. If you recall I bought this silver metallic yarn with tiny sequins shot through it in the bargain bin at the craft shop. I’m going somewhere very fancy and thought I would make myself a wrap using shell stitch. Although I started with 9 shells per width and after a botched attempt ended up with 7 at the far end. Just kept losing those shells!
To edge the wrap I made a foundation double crochet edge, then a round of triple, then two double rows, another triple row. Stuck for inspiration I opened my faithful Doring Kindersley crochet book and adapted their “deep scallop” edging, they used 13 trebles, I tried that but it looked a bit thin so I increased to 15 trebles per scallop. This edging is perfect with the shell design.

2015/01/img_0611.jpg

2015/01/img_0609.jpg
Lucky for me it turned out ok on corners too!
I will be wearing this wrap with a black dress and my favourite Stella and Dot crystal necklace.
I hope I’ll get a photo of me all dolled up to show you after my trip.

2015/01/img_0610.jpg
This wrap took 7 days, six balls of Stylecraft Stars yarn, 4 mm hook
It is 165cm long and 1 m wide (but stretchy)
Apart from gloves and scarves I’ve never made myself anything quite so fancy or had the confidence to even think it would look nice. I’m really pleased *pats self on back*

Leave a Reply

