New Year New Projects

I haven’t picked up a crochet hook in probably over a month now as like most of the rest of you December is a packed month with all the shenanigans of Christmas.
Well, that’s all over now, phew, and starting 2015 full of good crafting intentions.
I have a brand shiny new nephew so am working on a cross stitch design for him. He already got the triple treble blue cotton blanket I made last summer for Christmas. I’m sure he just yawned and went back to sleep when he saw it!
Just so you don think I’m lazy, here are some snaps of my January WIP (work in progress)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2b3/63434270/files/2015/01/img_0554.jpg
This is the pallet. Bright blues and greens. Perfect for a baby boy. The 14 count aida fabric is lightly printed with pale blue squares and is very fresh looking.
The kit is from Bothy Threads, part of their Cotton Zoo range and is called Woof the Puppy. It’s 100% cute.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2b3/63434270/files/2015/01/img_0555.jpg
This is two evenings work. I thought the kit would be quick, but actually the stitching is dense. Though working big blocks of one colour instead of changing thread every few stitches does speed things up a little.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2b3/63434270/files/2015/01/img_0551.jpg
Day 8. As you can see I’m moving on quickly now. My husband is away skiing so I’ve downloaded season 10 of Greys Anatomy, rationing myself to one episode per day, and getting on with this design. For the record I think the chart is really clear but comes on four massive pages which is great to work from with my middle aged eyesight. (Ooh “middle aged”. Get me. Finally admitting that I’m not as young as I think I am. Ha.)
Can’t wait to get crocheting again. Mum bought me a lovely crochet book for Christmas full of new ideas. They will have to wait for now.

Leave a Reply

