A Star is Born

20140207-210846.jpg

Time to move on from squares and have a go at stars. Using the pattern from my 500 crochet blocks book my first mistake was to use Aran wool. My plan was to make an Aran rug made up of star blocks which I saw on Pinterest. Second mistake. Pinterest projects generally don’t turn out the same in reality. (Visions of mugs decorated with sharpie markers, and a Kirkpatrick birthday cake swim horridly before my eyes)
I won’t lie. This was tricky. I kept forgetting to count. When you are used to working to a pattern of four to make a square to then start following a pattern for the first time ever, and to remember to count the number of trebles and half trebles. It took a few attempts. The wool is way too chunky. But it definitely a star.
But a galaxy rug of stars is still some way off.

2 thoughts on “A Star is Born

    • You’re so right. I am still a complete beginner and this was a rookie error. I’d love to make a chain of tiny stars for Christmas 2014

Leave a Reply

